How Do I Become A Realtor®?
Wisconsin Real Estate Sales License Information, Eligibility for a Wisconsin Salesperson License
Wisconsin real estate licenses for salespersons are issued by the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS). Follow the steps outlined below to obtain a new salesperson's license by examination (for applicants not licensed in any state):
1. Satisfy ONE of the following education requirements:
Complete the board-approved 72-hour pre-license education program for salespersons within the past four years.
Complete 10 semester hour credits in real estate or real estate-related law courses from an accredited institution of higher education.
2. Pass the salesperson examination within one year preceding the date of application, administered by Pearson VUE.3. Submit application to the DSPS, including supporting documents and fee. Application can be submitted online through the DSPS Online Licensure Application System (OLAS), which reduces processing time for new applicants or by mailing a printed copy of the application.
Form 3166, Application for Real Estate Salesperson license.
$82 credentialing fee.
Proof of education completion.
Evidence that you passed the salesperson exam.
Application for pre-determination (Form #3085): Individuals who do not possess a real estate broker, real estate salesperson or real estate timeshare salesperson license can apply to the board to determine whether any criminal conviction in their past will prohibit them from achieving licensure before making an investment in the education. Please see Chapter REEB 12 for more information.
Continuing education requirements: During each two-year licensing period, the DSPS requires all sales licensees to complete 18 credit hours of CE including CE for the biennium during which they were initially licensed. However, one individual is exempt: a salesperson who received a license after October 1 of the even year of the biennium will not be required to complete CE for that biennium.
If you want to obtain a Wisconsin real estate license and do not live in the state, see the Out-of-State Licensees page online.
How Do I Become A Member of the Lakeshore Realtors® Association?
Once you have received your sales license through the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services, if you have a sales license, you must house your license with a broker. Determining which brokerage is completely your choice. Once selected, you will need to join ORA by completing the LSRA application and submitting it along with payment to 2360 Dakota Dr. Suite E Grafton, WI 53024. To determine how much is owed, please see the New Realtor Dues Chart. If you are joining as an Affiliate please go to our "Join Us" page and click on the Affiliate icon. Once you join ORA, you automatically become a member of the Wisconsin REALTORS Association as well as the National Association of REALTORS.
All agent memberships are considered provisional with LSRA until the two NAR-mandated requirements are fulfilled: attending a half-day New Member Orientation at LSRA and completing the online NAR New Member Code of Ethics training. New members are emailed this information within 24 hours of LSRA receiving their application.
If you have a broker's license, you have the option of still working for an existing brokerage, setting up an independent business entity or operating under your own name. For more information on this, please see, "Starting a Brokerage" below.
What if I change brokerage firms?
What's the process for starting a brokerage?
NOTE: IT CAN TAKE SEVERAL WEEKS FOR EVERYTHING TO BE COMPLETED SO PLEASE PLAN ACCORDINGLY.
Starting your own brokerage is a 3 step process involving the Wisconsin Dept. of Safety and Professional Services, LSRA and Metro MLS.
You must have a broker's license in order to start your own brokerage. You next determine if you are going to operate under your own name or establish a separate business entity. If your own name, then you need to notify LSRA by calling 262-375-4730 with that change. You will then need to complete an application with Metro MLS by calling them at 414-778-5400 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you are establishing a separate business entity, you need to complete the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services Real Estate Entity Application along with filing the applicable $75 licensing fee and other mandated forms.
Once your business entity process is complete, you must complete a change of information form with LSRA (if already a member) indicating the name of your new brokerage and related contact information.
You will need to contact Metro MLS and complete their application and pay the associated fee for setting up your business entity. Metro MLS can be reached at 414-778-5400 or via email at email@example.com.
What's the process for adding an agent?
To add an agent, you must complete the Notice of Employment form for the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services and submit to them in Madison with the $10 fee. You also need to complete the LSRA application and send it along with payment, check made payable to Lakeshore Realtors® Association, mailed to 2360 Dakota Dr. Suite E Grafton, WI 53024. To determine how much is owed, as it adjusts monthly, please see the New Realtor Dues Chart. It's always good to make a copy of the Notice of Employment form and send it along to LSRA with the agent's application.
Once received by LSRA, the new agent will be added and Metro MLS, WRA, and NAR will receive the agents information. MLS will notify the new agent within 24 hours of MLS ID # and temporary password. The agent will also receive welcome emails from the Lakeshore Realtors® Association, the Wisconsin Realtors® Association and the National Association of Realtors®.
All agents memberships are considered provisional with LSRA until the two NAR-mandated requirements are fulfilled: attending a New Member Orientation at LSRA and completing the online NAR New Member Code of Ethics training. New members are emailed this information within 24 hours of ORA receiving their application.
What's the process to remove a REALTOR from my firm?
To remove a REALTOR from your roster with the state and MLS, you must complete a Notice of Termination form for the Department of Safety and Professional Services and email to them at firstname.lastname@example.org or fax to them at 608-261-7083. YOu also need to send a copy of the Notice of Termination form to LSRA via email at email@example.com or fax to 262-375-1019. This will notify MLS, WRA and NAR that the REALTOR is no longer under your brokerage license.
Do I need to pay dues for licensees associated with my firm but who are not REALTORS?
Yes, sales assessments are required for all licensees whose licenses are housed with your brokerage. The sales assessment dues include the local dues, state dues, and national dues. There is no new member fees and no NAR assessment of $35 fee. Sales dues assessments are due beginning the month the licensee is associated with your firm. Those who you pay sales assessments for receive no direct benefits of membership but instead are receiving benefits through their relationship with a member and therefore Brokers are charged sales assessments for those licensees.